Transport

How to travel in Montreal

The urban division of Montreal was developed on a rectangular grid slightly offset compared to the polar North. The axis of the Saint-Laurent boulevard defines the east-west origin of the city and the direction of what is called the Montreal North.

 

Montreal is ranked as the 11th cycling city in the world and the first in America, according to the Copenhagenize. With more than 1000 km of cycling paths on the island, distance riders will be pleased at Unicon 17. All year long, Montréal is invaded by cyclists who enjoy the diverse paths which make it possible to re-discover the city from another point of view. It will be possible for unicyclists to go almost anywhere in Montréal safely using only cycling paths.

Montréal has one of the most efficient public transport system in the world, including 68 subway stations in the center of the city, hundreds of bus lines, as well as trains branching in the surrounding cities.

N.B. Due to their too high number, bus lines do not appear on this map.
For more details on metro and buses, visit www.stm.info
For more details on trains, visit www.amt.qc.ca

The city is accessible from the Montréal-Trudeau international Airport, located on the west island. At the exit of the main hall of the airport, the 747 shuttle bus takes quickly and frequently newcomers in downton Montréal for only 10$.

For more details on Montréal-Trudeau, visit www.admtl.com

For more details on the 747 shuttle bus, visit www.stm.info

Don't do it : you will die, kill someone, or most likely get stuck in traffic.

Should you choose this option, be aware that Quebec highways are organized so that those parallel to Saint-Lawrence River (east-west) have an even number, while those perpendicular to the River (north-south) have an odd number. Even numbers increase when moving northward and odd numbers increase when moving eastward. Beware of the numerous one-way streets on the island of Montreal!

Transport

Comment vous déplacez à Montréal

Le découpage urbain de Montréal a été élaboré selon une grille rectangulaire légèrement désaxée par rapport au Nord polaire. L'axe du boulevard Saint-Laurent définit l'origine est-ouest de la ville ainsi que l'orientation de ce qui est appelé le Nord montréalais.

 

Montréal est classée comme 11e ville cycliste au monde et première en Amérique, selon le Copenhagenize. Avec plus de 1000 km de pistes cyclables sur l'île, les monocyclistes de distance seront ravis lors d'Unicon 17. Tout au long de l'année, Montréal est envahie par les cyclistes appréciant les pistes diversifiées qui rendent possible de redécouvrir la ville d'une autre perspective. Les monocyclistes pourront se rendre pratiquement n'importe où à Montréal de manière sécuritaire, en empruntant seulement des pistes cyclables.

Montréal possède l'un des systèmes de transport en commun les plus efficaces au monde, incluant 68 stations de métro au cœur de la ville, des centaines de lignes d'autobus ainsi que de nombreux trains s'étendant dans les villes périphériques.

N.B. Dû à leur trop grand nombre, les lignes d'autobus n'apparaissent pas sur cette carte.
Pour plus de détails sur le métro et les autobus, visitez www.stm.info
Pour plus de détails sur les trains, visitez www.amt.qc.ca

La ville est accessible pour l'Aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau de Montréal, située dans l'ouest de l'île. À la sortie du hall principal de l'aéroport, la navette 747 mène rapidement et fréquemment les nouveaux arrivants qui le désirent jusqu'au centre-ville pour seulement 10$.

Pour plus de détail sur l'Aéroport de Montréal, visitez www.admtl.com

Pour plus de détail sur la 747, visitez www.stm.info

Ne le faites pas : vous mourrez, tuerez quelqu'un ou, plus probablement resterez pris dans le trafic.

Si toutefois vous choisissez cette option, sachez que les autoroutes du Québec sont organisées de telle sorte que celles parallèles au fleuve Saint-Laurent (est-ouest) portent un nombre pair, alors que celles perpendiculaires au fleuve (nord-sud) portent un nombre impair. Les nombres pairs augmentent en se déplaçant vers le nord et les nombres impairs augmentent en se déplaçant vers l'est. Attention aux nombreuses rues à sens unique sur l'île de Montréal !